CCPIA Videos - Certified Commercial Property Inspectors Association

About this video:

Section 6.5.2 Exterior of the ComSOP requires inspectors to identify the type of siding on a building and inspect the siding, flashing and trim. Commercial buildings may feature two main types of stucco systems: hard-coat and EIFS. Hard coat stucco refers to traditional stucco. EIFS, stands for Exterior Insulated Finish System, and refers to synthetic stucco. A straightforward method for determining the stucco type is to apply pressure or knock on the material; hard-coat stucco feels solid with a hard tone, while EIFS typically feels hollow, flexes under pressure, and produces a hollow tone. Inspectors may choose to report additional subcategories of stucco.

The building construction dictates the type of drainage. On this hard-coat stucco building, the width of the building projecting from doors and windows indicate a concrete block construction, so no drainage, like weep holes, are present.

Control joints are placed in hard-coat stucco exteriors to allow for cracking to occur at predetermined locations. The control joints will also allow the stucco to expand and contract and expand with the weather changes.

  • Potential issues that inspectors may encounter include:
  • Surface cracking
  • Failed control joints
  • Loose sections
  • Physical damage
  • Structural cracks
  • Efflorescence
  • Rusting from behind the covering
  • Moisture and drainage issues

Understanding the types of cracks is crucial for inspectors to gauge severity and determine necessary maintenance. For instance, V-shaped cracks may indicate movement and potential structural issues.


Additional Resources for Commercial Property Inspections: